Here some dos and don’ts of going vegan, foods that some people may not realise are vegan and one of our favourite summer recipes.
DO Fill up on vegetables. Make quality plant-based foods your focus and eat a nutritious and varied diet.
DO Include fibre, probiotics, protein and drink lots of water! Nuts contain both protein and fibre. You need protein to repair your body’s tissues, and, if you’re eating enough fibre and keeping regular, you need plenty of H2O to help the fibre work its way through your system.
DO Start off slowly. Going vegan can be a big adjustment for your body. Eat vegan until the evening and finish off your day with moderate servings of fish, eggs and dairy. Continue this pattern for about a month before you cut out all animal products.
DON‘T Become a carb-o-vore or you’ll be likely to gain weight. What you need is a balanced diet.
DON‘T Think you can’t eat out! It’s time to visit ethnic eateries where vegan offerings are often staples. Think Indian (vegetable biryani), Middle Eastern (hummus, falafel and tabbouleh and Thai (red or green curry with vegetables. Just check that there is no fish sauce in any of the dishes).
DON‘T Think that something is healthy just because it’s vegan. There are so many highly processed junk food vegan options available to consumers. There are those who consume French fries and tomato sauce and never eat vegetables and fruit. It’s not a good idea.
Five foods that people may not realise are vegan (or can be vegan with small moderations).
Alcohol – There is vegan alcohol but you have to do some research since beer and wine can be processed using animal products such as egg whites or gelatine. However, virtually every brand of hard liquor – whiskey, vodka, gin and rum – is vegan.
Bread – Traditionally bread is made from yeast, flour, water and salt so it is suitable for vegans. However, you need to check that commercially sold bread doesn’t contain dairy or eggs.
Chocolate – Chocolate comes from cacao beans, grown on cacao trees, so it is plant-based. However, many brands add milk to the chocolate so you need to check. All Lindt’s dark solid chocolates are suited for vegans, for example Lindt Excellence 70% Cocoa and 85% Cocoa.
Pasta – Most packaged pasta is 100 percent vegan. Fresh pasta often has eggs included so check the ingredient list.
Pizza – Check that your pizza dough doesn’t contain dairy (many don’t) and ditch any cheese topping. Most pizzerias have an extensive list of vegetable toppings.
AVOCADO ICE LOLLIES
Plant based iced treats are the hottest (or coldest) food trend!
AVOCADO & HUMMUS FROZEN LOLLIES
Serves 4 – 6
- 2 avocados, peeled and chopped
- 100g hummus
- 5ml (1 tsp) Dijon mustard
- 5ml (1 tsp) crushed garlic
- 1 lemon, juice and zest
- Pinch of sea salt
- Freshly ground black pepper
- Sesame seeds to garnish
- To make, place all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth and pourable. Add a few of teaspoons cold water if necessary.
- Pour into popsicle moulds and freeze for 6-8 hours.
- Unmould, dip into sesame seeds to garnish and keep chilled until ready to eat.
Recipe courtesy of show sponsor, the South African Avocado Growers’ Association.